Tethered Home

The Quake lives in me,

Shakes my home,

Shatters the windows of my heart

(Quakes and Quakes)

Screaming “Get out!”

Though, how do I get out?

Isn’t this my home?

Long ago, the Quake never crossed my land, my home.

You would think I had the wit,

the self-awareness to ignore the cries of the quake,

though the quake has its way,

it’s persuasive presence that not only trembles my heart…

(my heart, it bleeds out and the Quake, she stays, watching it all go to shit with a big smile upon her face)

but my mind…

It spins and spins,

I cannot tell what is reality and what is not.

What is true, and what is fiction?

Lost in the Quake, never to feel the sturdy ground again.

The Quake has taken my once warm, home and turned it into Dorothy’s dirt bungalow.

The Quake, she can have my body. She can have my mind. She can have it all…

She wins.

Leave a comment